Guide Delete your Facebook account

The Cyber Hate Assistant has developed a guide on how to delete your Facebook account. You can either choose to remove the account permanently or temporarily disable the account.

Here is how you get rid of your Facebook account permanently

  1. Click on the arrow to the upper right on any Facebook page. 
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Click on Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  4. Click on Delete your account and your information and then click on Delete my account. 
  5. Give your password, click on Continue, and then Delete account.

If you choose to permanently delete the account, you will not be able to reactivate it. This means that even your profile, pictures, and videos will be deleted. You will not be able to use  Facebook Messenger either. Messages that you have sent to friends will still be visible for them after you have deleted your account. This is because copies of the messages that you have sent are saved in friends’ inboxes.

Cancel the removal

You can only cancel the removal of your Facebook account if fewer than 30 days have passed since you started the removal. After 30 days, it is not possible to retrieve any information. You can cancel the removal by logging in to your Facebook account and clicking on Cancel removal.

Here is how you temporarily disable your Facebook account

  1. Click on the arrow to the upper right on any Facebook page. 
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Click on Your Facebook Information, then click on Deactivation and Deletion and follow the instructions to confirm. 

If you choose to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account it means that you are taking a break from Facebook and other people can see your Facebook profile. Your posts, pictures, and videos are still there but hidden as long as the account is deactivated. With a temporarily disabled Facebook account, you can still use Facebook Messenger and other people can search for your name and send you messages.

Reactivate Facebook account

A disabled Facebook account can be reactivated at any time. You can reactivate your account by logging in to Facebook again, or by using your Facebook account to log in elsewhere.

Källor:

Facebook.com

Vad är näthat? Svensk lag på internet Polisanmäl Organisationer och föreningar Hjälp att hitta vidare stöd Backa varandra på internet Guider Hur skyddar jag mina konton? Intersektionella perspektiv på näthat Mikro-aktivism Tipsbanker
  • Dölj besök Om webbplatsen och näthatshjälpen